Japanther-Eat Like Lisa Act Like Bart LP (w/Instant download)

Sale: $5.00
Save: 50% off

First 200 orders get pink vinyl!!
Free download
***Will ship around May 30th!***
Japanther is the music and art project of Matt Reilly and Ian Vanek, who joined forces in 2001 and have taken on multitude of creative endeavors since. Known for their unconventional live performances, the band has appeared alongside synchronized swimmers, atop the Williamsburg Bridge, with giant puppets and marionettes, in the back of a moving truck in Soho, and at shows with giant dinosaurs and BMX bikers flying off the walls. Having released over a dozen albums in the past decade, Japanther is back with a new LP, Eat Like Lisa Act Like Bart, which will be released May 21st via Recess Records.

Album track “Stolen Flowers” is a short, melodic cut with fuzzed-out guitars and a driving beat, giving listeners a taste of the band’s signature punk rock-infused sound. You can download the “Stolen Flowers” MP3 where it premiered with Stereogum today or HERE, and we encourage you to post & share.

Eat Like Lisa Act Like Bart opens with the upbeat “Do Not Resuscitate,” with layers of buzzing guitar, shimmering synth and regimental percussion. “The Drums Deliver” is braced by a steady drum beat and driven by a wandering vocal line that leads to a sing-along chorus. “Green Spray Paint” features a toe-tapping rhythm beneath distorted vocals, while “125th and Riverside” is a slower jam that trades in fuzzy guitars for bouncy piano accompaniment.

Having played alongside The Misfits, Screaming Females, Dan Deacon, The Death Set and more, Japanther will tour the US in support of their new release this June. They’re also performing as part of the Crossing Brooklyn Ferry Festival on April 27th at BAMcafé, along with TV on the Radio, Here We Go Magic, and others. -Girlie Action

01 Do Not Resuscitate
02 Stolen Flowers http://youtu.be/vTRvXK8-21I
03 More Teachers, Less Cops
04 The Drums Deliver
05 Buy A Life
06 125th and Riverside
07 Five Lions
08 Green Spray Paint
09 Light Weight Jealous
10 Something to Do
11 A Head Bronco
12 Her Neighborhood
13 Wasted Day

Add to Cart:

  • Model: recess#169
  • Manufactured by: Recess Records

Please Choose:


This product was added to our catalog on Thursday 23 May, 2013.

Your IP Address is:
Copyright © 2017 Recess Records. Powered by Zen Cart
Recess Ani Banner june 2011